Living With Books FABS Zoom Group: Reading Places and Cataloging Redux

Sponsored by FABS May 28 (fourth Tuesday of the month), 4:30pm Pacific/7:30pm Eastern: Living With Books: Hosted by The Private Library author Reid Byers, this is a group on the pleasures and paraphernalia of home libraries. The format for the May meeting will be an open discussion about reading places (where do YOU read?) and […]

Ellen Browning Scripps: New Money and American Philanthropy, 1836-1932

Sponsored by The Book Club of California Ellen Browning Scripps: New Money and American Philanthropy, 1836-1932 Monday, June 10, 2024, 5-6:15 PM (Pacific) Virtual Presentation 5:00 PM Pacific – Program Molly McClain tells the remarkable story of Ellen Browning Scripps (1836–1932), an American newspaperwoman, feminist, suffragist, abolitionist, and social reformer. She used her fortune to […]

Julie Park: Containing the Self in Eighteenth-Century Pocket Diaries

Sponsored by The Caxton Club Julie Park on Containing the Self in Eighteenth-Century Pocket Diaries: Graphic Forms and Formats of Personal Information Storage When/Where: 6/14/2024 12:00 PM CT/1:00 PM ET. Zoom presentation is free and open to all. Preregistration required via website. ULCC live attendance – Zoom presentation and optional lunch ($35) following. Reservations required […]