Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

ABAA 2023 National Collegiate Book Collecting Contest Deadline

June 15, 2023 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm EDT

Sponsored by the ABAA

We are pleased to announce the ABAA is accepting entries for the 2023 National Collegiate Book Collecting Contest where more than $6,000 in prizes will be awarded to student collectors.

The contest is open to all prizewinners of college contests, whether or not first prize, as well as to interested students whose institutions do not offer contests. More information can be found here. All entries should be submitted by June 15, 2023. For more information on the contest, please visit contest.abaa.org.

The Antiquarian Booksellers’ Association of America (ABAA), the Fellowship of American Bibliophilic Societies (FABS), the Grolier Club, and the Center for the Book and the Rare Books and Special Collections Division (the Library of Congress) jointly assumed leadership of the National Collegiate Book Collecting Contest in 2010.

Established in 2005 by Fine Books & Collections Magazine to recognize outstanding book collecting efforts by college and university students, the program aims to encourage young collectors to become accomplished bibliophiles. The magazine conducted the annual competition program for three years before turning over leadership to the new collaboration of institutional partners.

Competitions are held at more than three dozen colleges and universities across the United States. Some contests have been conducted for decades, dating back to Swarthmore College’s first competition in the 1920s. All college or university prizewinners are encouraged to enter. Student collectors whose institutions do not offer a book collecting contest also may enter. All entries for the 2023 competition must be submitted by June 15, 2023.

The Antiquarian Booksellers’ Association of America promotes ethical standards and professionalism in the antiquarian book trade, encourages the collecting and preservation of rare books, and supports education and research. The Fellowship of American Bibliographic Societies was formed in 1993 as a national organization of member book collecting groups.

The Center for the Book in the Library of Congress was established in 1977 to promote books, reading, literacy and libraries, as well as the scholarly study of books.

Noted collector, bibliophile, and philanthropist Susan Jaffe Tane funds the prizes for the National Collegiate Book Collecting Contest. The prize is known as The Susan Tane Prize for Student Book Collectors.


June 15, 2023
8:00 am - 5:00 pm EDT
Event Tags:
, , , , , ,